Everybody Loves Red

The Federación de Fútbol de Chile is the second oldest South American federation, having been founded in the port city of Valparaiso on June 19, 1895. Chile was one of the thirteen national teams that competed in the inaugural World Cup™ in 1930. Overall, “La Roja” has appeared in eight FIFA World Cup™ tournaments and played host in 1962, where they achieved their biggest success by finishing in Third Place.

Chile Vitals

Founded On: 1895
Known For: Roberto Cereceda
Nickname: La Roja (The Red One), El Equipo de Todos (Everybody's team)

Notable Performance

Third Place in the 1962 FIFA World Cup™

Trophy Case

  • 8 FIFA World Cup™ Qualifications

    1930, 1950, 1962, 1966, 1974, 1982, 1998, 2010
  • Second Place in the Copa América

    1955, 1956, 1979, 1987
  • Round of 16 in the FIFA World Cup™

    1998, 2010